Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

    Project Description

    FACE OFF

    From 11th of September we show positions of four different artists who have not been previously exhibited at Pretty Portal. On display are works by Julian Kimmings, Rowan Newton, Shai Dahan and Various & Gould. All artists show works on the subject portrait.

    FACE OFF feat. Julian Kimmings, Rowan Newton, Shai Dahan und Various & Gould
    11.09. – 10.10.
    Opening reception 11.09., 19 – 22h.

    Please send us a mail if you would like to receive the catalog of the show as PDF.

    Julian Kimmings

    Julian Kimmings is a UK based artist. His work uses an amalgamation of oils, spray paint, ink and acrylic paint to create a vivid, engaging world of fanciful portraits.
    Julian is fascinated by ancient cultures, folklore and mythology, using their stories to give his work a narrative that relates, in part, to an increasingly materialistic modern World.
    Julian defines his subjects with strong gestures, mixed with rich brushwork that results in areas of detail fused with raw, energetic emotion, allowing the viewer to fill the blanks with their own imagination.
    Julian holds a BS(hons) in Illustration and has been exhibited at the Institute for Contemporary Arts, London. His unique, often graphic style has captured the attention of collectors across the globe and has gained acclaim from his peers in fine art, street art and graffiti circles.

    Rowan Newton

    Rowan Newton lives in London and paints people. Rowan’s style reflects the dichotomies of the inner-city landscape. Using spray paint, acrylics, and pen, he creates pieces that are gritty, provocative, and full of character.
    Since graduating from university in 2004, Rowan’s work has been in various exhibitions and art fairs in the UK including the Brixton Urban Art Fair, the Battersea Affordable Art Fair, and the London Art Fair. His work has also shown internationally, from New York to Amsterdam to Shanghai as well as the House of Commons in London.

    Shai Dahan

    Shai Dahan (born 1979) is an American contemporary painter and street artist who works with painting, drawing, illustrations and installations.
    In 2007, Dahan moved to New York City where he participated in street-art projects such as the NYSAT, Underbelly Project, and MOM&POPism. He also began to exhibit his art with galleries in Los Angeles, New York, Boston, and Philadelphia. In July 2012, Shai received recognition for his solo exhibition at the Borås Art Museum in Sweden. He was later featured as the opening keynote speaker at TEDx[1] Göteborg in October 2012.

    Throughout his career, Dahan has used different techniques for his outdoor artwork as well as his gallery collection. This includes stencil, wheatpasting, as well as using both acrylics, oils and spray paint. Dahan creates hybrids of the urban arts culture mixed with fine art work.

    Various & Gould

    Since 2005, the Berlin artist duo Various & Gould works closely. Both artists have studied at the Art Academy Berlin-Weissensee (KHB) and each made her diploma in 2010.

    Various & Gould represents the simple but effective formula: 1 + 1 =. 3 They reinvent themselves in every project and are often cross-border workers in various fields.
    Interests such as the love for paper, the enthusiasm for incidental beauty in everyday life and especially the work in public space, form the basis for their collaboration. Screen print and collage are their specialty. On most playful way they take relevant issues such as labour, migration, (sexual) identity, death, religion, or the financial crisis in attack. Their imagery is influenced by (political) poster artwork, Dada and Pop Art. There artworks are often characterized by a strong color and an ambiguous combination of symbols, associations and stereotypes.


    Back to Top

Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

Projekt Beschreibung

FACE OFF

Ab dem 11.9. zeigen wir in der Ausstellung FACE OFF, Positionen von vier verschiedenen Künstlern, die bisher noch nicht in der Galerie Pretty Portal ausgestellt haben. Zu sehen sind Arbeiten von Julian Kimmings, Rowan Newton, Shai Dahan und Various & Gould. Alle Künstler zeigen Werke zum Thema Portrait.

FACE OFF
feat. Julian Kimmings, Rowan Newton, Shai Dahan und Various & Gould
11.9. – 10.10.
Vernissage 11.9., 19 – 22h

Auf Anfrage senden wir Ihnen gerne den Katalog der Ausstellung als PDF zu.

Julian Kimmings

Julian Kimmings ist ein in Großbritannien lebender Künstler. Zur Herstellung seiner Arbeiten, meistens Portraits, verwendet er einen Mix aus Ölfarbe, Sprühfarbe, Tinte und Acrylfarbe.
Julian ist von alten Kulturen, Volkskunde und Mythologie fasziniert. Mit ihren Geschichten haucht er seiner Arbeiten eine Erzählung ein, die er in Relation zu einer zunehmend materialistischen modernen Welt stellt.
In seinen Portraits kombiniert Julian gestisches Malen, schnelle intuitive Pinselführung, mit detaillierten, fast realistischen Elementen. In den so eingefangenen, oft sehr emotionalen Momenten, kontrastiert ein klarer Ausdruck mit rohen, energiegeladenen Farbflächen, die dem Betrachter den Freiraum für seine Imagination geben.

Julian hat seinen Abschluss am Institut für zeitgenössische Kunst in London gemacht. Mit seiner einzigartigen Bildsprache hat er sowohl die Aufmerksamkeit von Sammlern auf der ganzen Welt, sowie hohes Ansehen bei Kennern der zeitgenössischen Kunst und Urban Art gewonnen.

Rowan Newton

Rowan Newton lebt in London und malt Menschen. Seine Bilder spiegeln die Dichotomien des urbanen Lebensraums wieder. Mit Sprühlack, Acryl und Aquarell schafft er Werke voller Charakter, die ungeschminkt und provokant sind. Nach dem Abschluss seines Kunststudiums (2004) hat er seine Bilder auf verschiedenen Ausstellungen in London, Amsterdam und New York ausgestellt.

Shai Dahan

Shai Dahan (geb. 1979) ist ein amerikanischer Maler und Urban Art Künstler.
2007 zog Shai von seinem Geburtsort Haifa (Israel) nach New York. Hier malte er Murals bei Street/ Urban Art Projekten, wie NYSAT, Underbelly Project, und MOM&POPism. Kurz darauf begann er seine Bilder in Galerien in Los Angeles, New York, Boston und Philadelphia zu zeigen. Im Juli 2012 erhielt Shai große Anerkennung für seine Einzelausstellung im Kunstmuseum Borås in Schweden. Kurz darauf wurde er als Hauptredner auf TEDx [1] Göteborg vorgestellt.
Im Laufe seines Schaffens hat Dahan verschiedene Techniken für seine Werke im öffentlichen Raum, sowie seine Leinwände und Installationen für den Galerieraum, verwendet. Dazu gehören Stencils (Schablone), Collage sowie Malerei mit Acryl, Öl und Sprühlack.

Various & Gould

Seit 2005 arbeitet das Berliner Künstlerduo Various & Gould eng zusammen. Beide Künstler haben an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee (KHB) studiert und jeweils im Jahr 2010 ihr Diplom gemacht.

Various & Gould stehen für die simple aber wirkungsvolle Formel: 1+1=3. Sie erfinden sich in jedem Projekt neu und sind oft Grenzgänger auf verschiedenen Gebieten.
Gemeinsame Interessen wie die Liebe für Papier, die Begeisterung für zufällige Schönheit im Alltag und vor allem die Arbeit im öffentlichen Raum, bilden die Grundlage für ihre Kollaboration. Siebdruck und Collage sind ihre Spezialität. Auf meist spielerische Weise nehmen sie relevante Themen wie zum Beispiel Arbeit, Migration, (sexuelle) Identität, Tod, Religion oder die Finanzkrise in Angriff. Ihre Werke sind beeinflusst von (politischer) Plakatgrafik, Dada und Pop Art. Sie zeichnen sich oft durch eine starke Farbigkeit und eine vieldeutige Verknüpfung von Symbolen, Assoziationen und Klischees aus.

 


„mehr


 

nach oben