Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

    Project Description

    Oliver Räke „Outside Society“

    Oliver Räke paints fences.
    Fences symbolize borders. Borders to other countries and cultures, to economically less or better privileged, apparently more safe or righteous places and vice versa. Borders as protection and as hurdle. Depending on which side you stand, you feel the border as good or bad. Want to overcome or reinforce them. But there are also the limits in us, in our minds. Where we limit ourselves. Voluntarily, or because other ideas elude us from our imagination.
    Politically, socially and also in relationships between people. The border is always being against something.

    Oliver Räke says:
    “Anti – main thing for it. on the other hand!
    anti, not in spite of, anti as an origin to think about the good and the bad at the same time. anti as demarcation.
    In my work I reflect abstractly what I am for. Greek thought: to oppose the anti of the elementary fronts an anti of the wise quarrel.
    everything is political. ”

    Oliver Räke is graffiti artist of the first hour. Already active in Dusseldorf in 1984, he is quickly known across the borders of the city and throughout the state in the scene. With his style, he continues to push the boundaries of understanding graffiti and painting works for the white cube, exhibitions and galleries.
    Outside Society is his fourth exhibition at Pretty Portal.

    „Outside Society “
    Vernissage:
    Friday, 28. September 19:00 – 22:00
    Exhibition:
    Saturday 29. September 12:00-16:00
    Sunday 30. September 14:00-18:00
    1. October – 5. Oktober 11:00 – 19:00

    The exhibition is part of  the project Stefan Schwander X Oliver Räke. Stefan Schwander´s exhibition “Möbel: Grau mit Funktionslosigkeit” is taking place in the rooms of Present Progressive, which are located right next to the gallery.


    Back to Top

Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

Projekt Beschreibung

Oliver Räke „Outside Society“

Oliver Räke malt Zäune.
Zäune symbolisieren Grenzen. Grenzen zu anderen Ländern und Kulturkreisen, zu wirtschaftlich weniger oder besser privilegierten, scheinbar sicheren oder gerechteren Orten und umgekehrt. Grenzen als Schutz und als Hürde. Je nachdem auf welcher Seite man steht, empfindet man die Grenze als gut oder schlecht. Will sie überwinden oder verstärken. Aber es gibt auch die Grenzen in uns, in unseren Köpfen. Da wo wir uns selbst beschränken. Freiwillig, oder weil sich uns andere Ideen unserer Vorstellungskraft entziehen.
Politisch, gesellschaftlich und auch in der Beziehung zwischen zwei Menschen. Die Grenze ist auch immer ein dagegen.

Oliver Räke sagt dazu:
„anti – hauptsache dafür. dagegen!
anti, nicht aus trotz, anti als ursprung über das gut und böse gleichzeitig nachzudenken. anti als abgrenzung.
in meinen arbeiten reflektiere ich auf abstrakte art, wofür ich bin. griechisch gedacht: dem anti der elementaren fronten ein anti des klugen streits entgegenzusetzen.
alles ist politisch.“

Oliver Räke ist Graffiti Künstler der ersten Stunde. Bereits 1984 in Düsseldorf aktiv, ist er schnell über die Grenzen der Stadt und im ganzen Bundesgebiet in der Szene bekannt. Mit seinem Style verschiebt er die Grenzen des Verständnis von Graffiti immer weiter und malt auch Werke für den White Cube, für Ausstellungen und Galerien.
Outside Society ist seine vierte Ausstellung in der Galerie Pretty Portal.

„Outside Society “
Vernissage:
Freitag, 28. September 19:00 – 22:00
Ausstellung:
Samstag 29. September 12:00-16:00
Sonntag 30. September 14:00-18:00

Die Ausstellung findet als Teil des Gemeinschaftsprojekts Stefan Schwander X Oliver Räke statt. Die Ausstellung von Stefan Schwander „Möbel: Grau mit Funktionslosigkeit“ findet zeitgleich in den direkt neben der Galerie liegenden Räumen von Present Progressive statt.


nach oben