Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

    Project Description

    ARDIF & Friends "Realm of ancient Mechanimals"

    ARDIF & Friends
    “Realm of ancient Mechanimals”

    ARDIF’s creations are modern mythical creatures. Cyborgs, hybrid creatures of a biological organism and a Machina Obscura, a surreal symbiosis of medieval architecture and ancient mechanics. The machine part, which captivates the eye of the beholder with its multitude of details, romanticizes the first rather dystopian impression of the composition.
    Fabulous beings have always been creatures whose outward appearance is shaped by human imagination. Many have their origins in the real world and are influenced by contemporary history. It is the same with ARDIF’s creations. The more and more unbalanced relationship between humans and nature, which in the short term represents a threat to our planet, but in the long term rather a threat to our species, is reflected impressively with the French urban artist works. But the increasing mechanization of our everyday life, digitization and the dawn of the age of machines are also reflected in his works.

    Kitsune Mechanimal.jpg

    Mythical creatures also convey the ancient stories of mankind in a mystical way. In the exhibition “Realm of ancient Mechanimals”, ARDIF takes up these ancient stories and adds another narrative level to his fabulous animals. His creations have their origins in the myths and folklore of the most diverse cultures. His realm of the ancient Mechanimals includes the Japanese Kitsune, a multi-tailed masked fox that is considered a lucky charm, the Greek Pegasus, the winged horse that stands for wisdom and poetry, or a Jackalope, a hybrid of hare and pronghorn, which is very popular on the North American continent.

    For an even more extensive discussion of the topic, ARDIF has invited four artist friends to join the discourse. In the process, collaborations have arisen, which extends the french artists view by the individual perspectives of the artist group formed for this exhibition. This group consists of Dzia, Horor, Parvati and Sandrot.

     

    ARDIF & DZIA "Realm of ancient Mechanimals"

    The Belgian painter Dzia dismantles the animals he paints with geometric free forms into a kind of mosaic, which follows the contours of the animals shape. His unmistakable line can be found in countless murals around the world. Recent projects have taken him to China, Norway and Spain. Dzia, who graduated from the Royal Academy in Antwerp with a Masters in Fine Arts, chose a winged cat for his contribution to the exhibition, which can be found in the mythology of North Africa.

     

    ARDIF & Horor "Realm of ancient Mechanimals"

    Horor found his way to art in early 2000 as a graffiti writer. After completing his studies in fine arts at the Sorbonne, he did not forget his roots, but developed a mix of typography and painting. In his visual language he skilfully combines the influences from the streets of the Parisian suburbs and a classical repertoire discovered at the academy. His works show influences from sensual surrealism, contemporary illustration and naturalistic drawing. Stylistically, they are characterized by calligraphic-inspired lines that flow through his creations in a wave-like, rhythmic manner.

     

    ARDIF & Friends "Realm of ancient Mechanimals"

    The hybrid characters of the French-Indian artist Parvati are a mixture of human and bird. They open the door to a poetic dream that questions the relationship between the bizarre and the beautiful as well as the demarcation between humans and animals. In addition to the fauna, the flora is omnipresent in her works. This echoes the Amazonian forests in French Guiana where she was born and raised.
    Parvati is inspired by the great masters of the Renaissance. This is also reflected in the painting technique she uses. She paints her figures exclusively in oil, while acrylic spray paints are mainly used in the backgrounds. Like ARDIF, she often uses paste-ups for her interventions in public space, i.e. works prepared in the studio, anthropomorphic birds on a human scale, which she then sticks in the streets.

     

    ARDIF & Friends "Realm of ancient Mechanimals"

    Sandrot is a contemporary French artist painter. Passionate about painting since her childhood, she creates artworks mainly focused on animal subjects.
    Often associated with artistic movements such as pop art or urban art, Sandrot draws her inspiration from nature in order to create artworks that raise awareness of the animal cause and support environmental protection associations. Inspired by wild fauna, her artworks are recognizable by the realism, the attitude and the gaze of subjects. Her affection for large formats enabled her to create many frescoes. For the exhibition, she worked with ARDIF on an African elephant, which is a symbol of wisdom, power and dignity on its continent.

     

    „Realm of ancient Mechanimals“
    ARDIF & Friends
    (Dzia, Horor, Parvati, Sandrot)

    30.04.2021 – 25.06.2021
    Tuesday – Friday, 2-7pm
    Please make an appointment with us to visit the exhibition.

    Pretty Portal
    Brunnenstrasse 12
    40223 Düsseldorf

    Back to Top

Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

    Projekt Beschreibung

    ARDIF & Friends "Realm of ancient Mechanimals"

    ARDIF & Friends
    “Realm of ancient Mechanimals”

    ARDIF´s Schöpfungen sind moderne Fabelwesen. Cyborgs, Mischwesen aus biologischem Organismus und einer Maschina Obskura, einer surrealen Symbiose aus mittelalterlicher Architektur und antiker Mechanik. Dabei romantisiert der Maschinenteil, der in seiner Vielzahl von Details das Auge des Betrachters fesselt, den ersten eher dystopischen Eindruck der Komposition.
    Fabelwesen sind seit jeher Wesen, deren äußere Erscheinung durch die Phantasie der Menschen geprägt wird. Viele haben ihren Ursprung in der realen Welt, sind von der Zeitgeschichte beeinflusst. So ist es auch mit ARDIFs Geschöpfen. Das immer mehr aus dem Gleichgewicht geratene Verhältnis von Mensch und Natur, das kurzfristig eine Bedrohung für unseren Planeten darstellt, langfristig aber eher eine für unsere Spezies, reflektiert der französische Urban Art Künstler mit seinen Werken eindrücklich. Aber auch die immer weitergehende Technisierung unseres Alltags, Digitalisierung und das wie ein Gespenst im Raum stehende Zeitalter der Maschinen spiegeln sich in seinen Werken wieder.

    Kitsune Mechanimal.jpg

    Fabelwesen transportieren auf mystische Weise auch die alten Geschichten der Menschheit. In der Ausstellung „Realm of ancient Mechanimals“ greift ARDIF diese alten Geschichten auf und ergänzt seine Fabelwesen um eine weitere Erzählebene. Seine Schöpfungen haben ihren Ursprung in den Mythen und der Folklore der unterschiedlichsten Kulturkreise. Zu seinem Reich der uralten Mechanimals gehören unter anderem der japanische Kitsune, ein vielschwänziger maskierter Fuchs, der als Glücksbringer gilt, der griechische Pegasus, das geflügelte Pferd, der für Weisheit und Dichtkunst steht, oder ein Jackalope, ein Mischwesen aus Hase und Gabelbock, der auf dem nordamerikanischen Kontinent sehr beliebt ist.

    Für eine noch weitergehende Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema hat ARDIF zudem noch vier befreundete Künstler zum Diskurs geladen. Dabei sind Zusammenarbeiten entstanden, die ARDIFS Verbindungen von Natur und Technik um die jeweils eigenen künstlerischen Betrachtungsweisen seiner für diese Ausstellung geformten Künstlergruppe erweitert. Diese Gruppe setzt sich aus Dzia, Horor, Parvati und Sandrot zusammen.

     

    ARDIF & DZIA "Realm of ancient Mechanimals"

    Der belgische Maler Dzia zerlegt die Wesen die er malt mit geometrischen Freiformen in eine Art Mosaik, welches den Konturen der Tierform folgt. Sein unverkennbarer Strich findet sich weltweit in seinen unzähligen Wandbildern wieder. Jüngste Projekte haben ihn nach China, Norwegen und Spanien geführt. Dzia, der die Royal Academy in Antwerpen mit einem Master in Bildender Kunst abgeschlossen hat, hat für seinen Beitrag zu der Ausstellung eine geflügelte Katze gewählt, die man in der Mythologie des nordafrikanischen Raums findet.

     

    ARDIF & Horor "Realm of ancient Mechanimals"

    Horor hat den Weg zur Kunst Anfang 2000 als Graffiti Writer gefunden. Nach dem Abschluss seines Studium der bildenden Kunst an der Sorbonne, hat er seine Wurzeln aber nicht vergessen, sondern einen Mix aus Typographie und Malerei entwickelt. In seiner Bildsprache verbindet er die Einflüsse aus den Straßen der Pariser Vororte und ein an der Akademie entdecktes klassisches Repertoire gekonnt. Seine Werke zeigen Einflüsse aus dem sinnlichen Surrealismus, der zeitgenössischen Illustration und dem naturalistischem Zeichnen. Stilistisch sind sie von einer kalligrafisch inspirierten Linienführung geprägt, die wellenförmig, rhythmisch durch seine Schöpfungen fließt.

     

    ARDIF & Friends "Realm of ancient Mechanimals"

    Die hybriden Charaktere der französisch-indischen Künstlerin Parvati sind eine Mischung aus Mensch und Vogel. Sie öffnen die Tür zu einem poetischen Traum, der die Beziehung zwischen dem Bizarren und dem Schönen ebenso in Frage stellt, wie die Abgrenzung von Mensch und Tier. Neben der Fauna ist auch die Flora in ihren Werken allgegenwärtig. Diese ist ein Echo der Wälder des Amazonas in Französisch-Guayana, in denen sie geboren und aufgewachsen ist.
    Parvati ist von den großen Meistern der Renaissance inspiriert. Dies spiegelt sich auch in der von ihr verwendeten Maltechnik wieder. Ihre Figuren malt sie ausschließlich in Öl, während in den Hintergründen auch immer wieder Acryl Sprühfarben zum Einsatz kommen. Für ihre Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum nutzt sie ebenso wie ARDIF häufig Paste Ups, also im Atelier vorbereitete Werke, anthropomorphe Vögel im menschlichen Maßstab, die sie dann in die Strassen klebt.

     

    ARDIF & Friends "Realm of ancient Mechanimals"

    Sandrot ist eine zeitgenössische französische Künstlerin. In ihrer Malerei verbindet sie Pop-Art mit urbaner Kunst. Sie hat eine Vorliebe für große Formate und ist bekannt für ihre ausdrucksstarken Wandbilder.
    Mit ihren Bildern möchte sie das Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung der Tierwelt und den Umweltschutz schärfen. In ihrem Werk setzt sie sich mit dem Wesen der Tiere auseinander, fokussiert auf ihren Charakter und zeigt sie als beseelte Wesen. Für die Ausstellung hat sie mit ARDIF gemeinsam an einem afrikanischen Elefanten gearbeitet, der auf seinem Kontinent als Symbol für Weisheit, Macht und Würde steht.

     

    „Realm of ancient Mechanimals“
    ARDIF & Friends
    (Dzia, Horor, Parvati, Sandrot)

    30.04.2021 – 25.06.2021
    Dienstag – Freitag, 14-19h
    Bitte vereinbaren Sie einen Termin zur Besichtigung der Ausstellung mit uns.

    Pretty Portal
    Brunnenstrasse 12
    40223 Düsseldorf

    nach oben