Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

Project Description

Alexis „BUST“ Stephens, ARDIF, Demon, L.E.T., Marc C. Woehr, Roman Klonek, Oliver „MAGIC“ Raeke, SKIO, Theo Lopez, Top Notch
“THE PRETTY WALL SHOW”

The Pretty Wall Show

Since August 2022 Düsseldorf has another attraction, another cultural highlight. Pretty Wall Bilk shows artworks from 10 urban artists. The underpass of the S Bahn station Bilk was transformed from another unreal site, that everyone tries to pass as fast as possible, to an art gallery in public space. The new open air museum shows a wide range of urban contemporary positions, figurative next to abstract works, from Graffiti, via Streetart to Urban Art and Graffuturism. Today passengers take the chance to stop and enjoy art on their way to work or shopping.

The idea for a gallery in the underpass came to me in 2017, but as all good things need a while to happen, it took another 5 years for the idea to become alive. The hurdles of bureaucracy, permissions to paint the walls and pillars, finding financial support and other not so exciting tasks had to be managed to finally start with the project this year. The participating artists were found in no time. Alexis “BUST” Stephens, ARDIF, Demon, L.E.T., Marc C. Woehr, Roman Klonek, Oliver “MAGIC” Raeke, SKIO, Theo Lopez and Top Notch contributed their artistic ideas, brought art to the walls and helped to make Pretty Wall Bilk happen. And even before the artists started to paint, the idea of the project was awarded with the Urbanana Award of Tourism NRW.

For the Pretty Wall Show I invited all artists who painted at the outdoor project to come up with their latest studio works. As the works outside do, the mix of works that will be seen in the gallery is an excellent overview of contemporary urban art. On display are paintings, mixed media installations and drawings.

 

Alexis „BUST“ Stephens, ARDIF, Demon, L.E.T., Marc C. Woehr, Roman Klonek, Oliver „MAGIC“ Raeke, SKIO, Theo Lopez, Top Notch

„THE PRETTY WALL SHOW“
14th of October – 25th of November
Vernissage: 14th of  October, 7pm

Back to Top

Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

Projekt Beschreibung

Alexis „BUST“ Stephens, ARDIF, Demon, L.E.T., Marc C. Woehr, Roman Klonek, Oliver „MAGIC“ Raeke, SKIO, Theo Lopez, Top Notch
„THE PRETTY WALL SHOW“

Seit August 2022 hat Düsseldorf eine neue Attraktion, ein weiteres kulturelles Highlight. Pretty Wall Bilk zeigt Kunstwerke von 10 Urban Art Künstlern. Die Unterführung des S-Bahnhofs Bilk wurde von einem unwirklichen Ort, den jeder so schnell wie möglich zu passieren versucht, zu einer Kunstgalerie im öffentlichen Raum. Das neue FOpen Air Museum zeigt ein breites Spektrum urbaner zeitgenössischer Positionen, figurative neben abstrakten Werken, von Graffiti über Street Art bis hin zu Urban Art und Graffuturism. Heute nutzen Passanten die Möglichkeit, auf dem Weg zur Arbeit oder zum Einkaufen anzuhalten und Kunst zu genießen.

Die Idee für eine Galerie in der Unterführung hatte ich bereits 2017. Da alles Gute aber eine Weile braucht, dauerte es weitere 5 Jahre, bis die Idee zum Leben erweckt wurde. Die Hürden der Bürokratie, Genehmigungen zum Bemalen der Wände und Säulen, das Finden finanzieller Unterstützung und andere nicht so spannende Aufgaben mussten bewältigt werden, um dieses Jahr endlich mit dem Projekt zu starten. Die teilnehmenden Künstler waren in kürzester Zeit gefunden. Alexis „BUST“ Stephens, ARDIF, Demon, L.E.T., Marc C. Woehr, Roman Klonek, Oliver „MAGIC“ Raeke, SKIO, Theo Lopez und Top Notch steuerten ihre künstlerischen Ideen bei, brachten Ihre Kunst an die Wände und liessen Pretty Wall Bilk Wirklichkeit werden. Und noch bevor der erste Pinselstrich seinen Weg auf die Wand fand, wurde die Idee des Projekts mit dem Urbanana-Preis des Tourismus NRW ausgezeichnet.

Für die Pretty Wall Show habe ich alle Künstler, die bei dem Projekt beteiligt waren, eingeladen, ihre neuesten Studioarbeiten zu zeigen. Wie die Werke im Außenbereich bietet auch die Mischung der Arbeiten, die in der Galerie zu sehen sein werden, einen hervorragenden Überblick über die Bandbreite zeitgenössischer Urban Art. Gezeigt werden Gemälde, Mixed-Media-Installationen und Zeichnungen.

 

Alexis „BUST“ Stephens, ARDIF, Demon, L.E.T., Marc C. Woehr, Roman Klonek, Oliver „MAGIC“ Raeke, SKIO, Theo Lopez, Top Notch

„THE PRETTY WALL SHOW“
14. Oktober – 25. November
Vernissage: 14. Oktober 19h

nach oben