Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

    Project Description

     

    Various & Gould „InterFace“

    In March Various & Gould are coming to Düsseldorf to present their book „Permanently improvised“ and show some of their latest works at Pretty Portal.

    The Berlin based artist duo works in close collaboration since 2005. After studying at the Berlin-Weissensee School of Art (KHB), the artists graduated under the tutelage of Prof Alex Jordan (Grapus collective) in 2010.
    Various & Gould are known for constantly reinventing themselves. Their creation is based on the simple but striking formula 1+1=3. Whilst methods of screen-printing and collage are their speciality, their art can also emerge in a public performance or an installation as they like crossing borders and do not stick to a certain medium. Mutual passions including their love of paper, enthusiasm for accidental beauty in everyday life and art in urban space form the core of their artistic practice.
    Various & Gould often deal with socially prominent themes such as work, migration, gender, death, religion or the financial crisis in a playful, intuitive manner. Influenced by (political) poster graphics, Dada and Pop Art, vivid colors combined with typography and encrypted messages are the characteristics of their work.

    Like the title of the exhibition, Various & Gould’s latest screen print is called “InterFace”. The work symbolizes the close and profound connection between two individuals that goes beyond what is superficially visible; two people, independent and autonomous, connected in a special way at the same time by their ideas, sensors, thoughts and emotions. This work is also the title of the book published last October: “Permanently Improvised”, which the two artists will present at the vernissage.
    During the presentation, Various & Gould will discuss previous projects and explain their thoughts on various murals. After the lecture, the two artists are available for questions and an open discussion

    „InterFace“
    Vernissage und book presentation 6.März 2020, 7pm

    Show
    6.3. – 21.3.

     


    Back to Top

Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

    Projekt Beschreibung

     

    Im März haben wir das KünsterDuo Various & Gould in der Galerie zu Gast. Die in Berlin lebenden Künstler arbeiten bereits seit 2005 als Duo zusammen 2010 haben beide ihr Studium an der Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee (KHB) bei Prof. Alex Jordan (Grafikerkollektiv Grapus) abgeschlossen.

    Various & Gould sind Grenzgänger auf verschiedenen Gebieten. Sie stehen für die schlichte aber wirkungsvolle Formel: 1 + 1 = 3. Gemeinsame Interessen wie die Liebe für Papier, die Begeisterung für zufällige Schönheit im Alltag und vor allem die Arbeit im öffentlichen Raum, bilden die Grundlage für ihre Kollaboration. Siebdruck und Collage sind ihre Leidenschaft. Auf meist spielerische Weise nehmen sie sozialrelevante Themen wie Arbeit, Migration, Gender, Tod, Globalisierung, Religion oder die Finanzkrise in Angriff. Ihre Werke sind beeinflusst von (politischer) Plakatgrafik, Dada und Pop Art. Sie zeichnen sich durch eine starke Farbigkeit und eine vieldeutige Verknüpfung von Symbolen, Assoziationen und Stilen aus.

    So wie der Titel der Ausstellung, heißt auch der neuste Siebdruck von Various & Gould „InterFace“. Die Arbeit versinnbildlicht die enge und tiefgreifende Verbindung zwischen zwei Individuen, die über das rein oberflächlich sichtbare hinausgeht; zwei Menschen, unabhängig und autonom, gleichzeitig auf besondere Weise durch ihre Ideen, Sensoren, Gedanken und Emotionen miteinander verbunden.
    Diese Arbeit ist auch Titel des im letzten Oktober erschienenen Buchs: „Permanently Improvised“, welches die beiden Künstler im Rahmen der Vernissage vorstellen werden.
    Während der Präsentation werden Various & Gould auf zurückliegende Projekte eingehen und ihre Gedanken zu verschiedenen Wandbildern erläutern. Nach dem Vortrag stehen die beiden Künstler für Fragen und eine offene Gesprächsrunde bereit.

    „InterFace“
    Vernissage und Buchpräsentation
    6.März 2020
    Einlass: 19h
    Beginn der Präsentation: 20h

    Ausstellung
    6.3. – 21.3.


    nach oben