Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

    Project Description

    L.E.T. “How is this happening !?”

    From the 11th of December, we will be showing an installation by Düsseldorf based urban artist L.E.T. entitled “How is this happening?” In his work, L.E.T. reflects upon the situation of the refugees stranded at the gates of Europe. He uses life jackets as his medium and shows how this symbol of hope is transformed on the journey of most refugees.

    L.E.T. travelled to Lesbos a few months ago and visited the “life jacket graveyard”, a landfill of harrowing dimensions where the life jackets left behind by refugees end up. The unreal image of this eerie place, which he had already seen three years ago in a documentary, never left him. During his stay on Lesbos he paid the “life jacket graveyard” a visit, spoke with refugees and helpers from the organisation “The Hope Project”, forming his own picture of the situation.

    After his return, three body bags were sewn from the life jackets he had collected on Lesbos. These are the central element of the installation and show the transformation of hope into mourning. They bear witness to the journey of a myriad of people fleeing inhumane conditions, a journey that meets its cruel end at the gates of Fortress Europe.

    Especially in the pre-Christmas season the work brings to mind the image of the manger. A couple with child who were not welcome anywhere and were forced to seek refuge in a barn. In about 2000 years, predominantly Christian Europe has not yet internalised its own core values of philanthropy and charity, values that are celebrated once again this year during Christmas and find their main expression in an abundance of material gifts.

    L.E.T. was accompanied on his journey by artist Laura Knapp and cameraman Chris Schwarz. Schwarz documented the artist’s stay and the situation on site. The film, which is also part of the installation, can be viewed here. (https://vimeo.com/485174602/c36a9b9770).

    In the exhibition “How is this happening?” L.E.T. also shows some canvases reflecting his experiences on Lesbos.

    A “Making of” Video from the exhibition can be seen here.

    „How is this happening !?“
    L.E.T.

    11.12.2020 – 29.1.2021
    Tuesday – Friday, 14-19h and by appointment

    Pretty Portal
    Brunnenstrasse 12
    40223 Düsseldorf

    Back to Top

Call Us: +4921141618310 - Mail: info@prettyportal.de

    Projekt Beschreibung

    L.E.T. “How is this happening !?”

    Ab dem 11.12. zeigen wir im Pretty Portal unter dem Titel „How is this happening !?“ eine Installation des Düsseldorf Urban Art Künstlers L.E.T.. In seiner Arbeit reflektiert L.E.T. die Situation der Flüchtlinge vor den Toren Europas. Dabei verwendet er als Arbeitsmaterial Rettungsschwimmwesten und zeigt, wie sich dieses Symbol der Hoffnung auf der Reise der meisten Flüchtlinge transformiert.

    L.E.T.ist vor einigen Monaten nach Lesbos gefahren und hat dort den „Friedhof der Rettungswesten“ besucht. Dabei handelt es sich um eine riesige Müllhalde, auf der von Flüchtlingen zurückgelassene Schwimmwesten, gesammelt werden. Das unwirkliche Bild, welches er bereits vor drei Jahren in einer Reportage gesehen hatte, liess ihn nicht mehr los. Bei seinem Aufenthalt auf Lesbos hat er diesen Ort besucht, mit Flüchtlingen und Helfern der Organisation „The Hope Project“ gesprochen und sich ein eigenes Bild gemacht.
    Aus den auf Lesbos gesammelten Schwimmwesten hat er nach seiner Rückkehr drei Leichensäcke nähen lassen. Diese sind das zentrale Element der Installation und zeigen die Verwandlung von Hoffnung in Trauer. Sie stehen für die Reise einer Unzahl von Menschen, die auf der Flucht vor unmenschlichen Zuständen an den Toren der Festung Europa ein grausames Ende findet.

    Beim Betrachten der Arbeit drängt sich gerade in der vorweihnachtlichen Zeit das Bild der Krippe auf. Die Eltern mit dem Kind waren nirgendwo willkommen und mussten in einer Scheune Zuflucht suchen. Das vorwiegend christliche Europa hat in ca. 2000 Jahren das Konzept der Nächstenliebe, dass im weihnachtlichen Fest mit vielen materiellen Zuwendungen auch dieses Jahr wieder gefeiert wird noch nicht verinnerlicht.

    Auf seiner Reise wurde L.E.T. von der Düsseldorfer Künstlerin Laura Kanpp und dem Kameramann Chris Schwarz begleitet. Schwarz hat den Aufenthalt des Künstler und die Situation vor Ort dokumentiert. Den Film, der ebenfalls Teil der Installation ist, kann man sich hier anschauen. (https://vimeo.com/485174602/c36a9b9770).
    In der Ausstellung „How is this happening?“ zeigt L.E.T. auch einige Leinwände in denen sich seine Erlebnisse auf Lesbos widerspiegeln.

    Ein “Making of” Video vom Aufbau finden Sie hier.

    „How is this happening !?“
    L.E.T.

    11.12.2020 – 29.1.2021
    Dienstag – Freitag, 14-19h
    und nach Vereinbarung

    Pretty Portal
    Brunnenstrasse 12
    40223 Düsseldorf

    nach oben